Violent Crime Topics
Battery Laws in Georgia
The criminal charge of battery is brought against a person who is accused of having an intention to harm a person and the accused is successful in physically doing an act of harm.
Assault vs. Battery
In a legal definition, the term "battery" applies when an individual is perceived as intentionally causing harm to a person. Specifically, this is making contact with someone in a threatening, provoking, intimidating manner. The term assault applies when there is a conveyance of imminent physical harm but no physical contact.
In Georgia, simple battery is a misdemeanor charge. It is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. The level of fines could be as much as $5,000 if the battery is deemed to be of a "high and aggravated nature".
In Georgia, aggravated battery is a felony charge. It is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and fines.
What is &Aggravated&?
Aggravated most often applies to situations that involved a weapon, or the act was committed against certain classes of people such as a senior citizen, pregnant woman, police officer, teacher, etc.
If you have been charged with battery, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Our law firm can take prompt action to represent you with a vigorous defense against battery charges. Call 770-956-1400 or contact us online and schedule time to meet with a defense lawyer.